Article Review: Intel CEO – Almost getting fired

Intel CEO Brian Krzanich did an interview which is worth either a full read or listen on the podcast.  The part that grabbed me is Krzanich’s take on who you should fire and why.

‘I’ve had to terminate or fire more people for being difficult to work with than being dumb.’dumb

The story resonates as he was almost fired early in his career for what I could see as a dumb mistake.  We all have made those and some where not lucky enough to have a boss like Krzanich who understands the difference between making a mistake trying to improve the business somehow and just screwing up.

‘I think if you don’t give people the tools and the expectations for success, and yet hold them to some value, then you’re difficult to work with.’office space.png

In my career I have had bosses give me what seemed like crazy tasks and/or timetables, but they let me pick who I could work with and how to get it done which kept me motivated and more often than not I was successful.  Partly because I had a good amount of control, but mostly because I had a boss who believed more in me and the team then I did holding us to their expectation.

Look for these type of bosses (more leader than manager) and to become that type of boss.

crazy

 

 

Leave a Reply

